Gretchen Guess

President and CEO

Phone: 907-334-0508


Gretchen Guess, a born-and-raised Alaskan who gave back as an Alaska state legislator, school board member and health care executive, returned to the place of her roots in 2023 to take the helm of the Foundation as president and CEO.

Gretchen started her professional life working for the administration of then-Gov. Tony Knowles and for a telecom, Alaska Communications. She served terms in the Alaska House and Senate and also on the Anchorage School Board, including as president. When she won her Senate seat in 2002, she was the youngest woman in Alaska to attain the office. In the state Legislature and on the Anchorage School Board, Gretchen worked to bridge gaps between stakeholders. After retiring from the Legislature, Gretchen spent 15 years in health care management and leadership including six years in planning and development with Providence Alaska. She holds a bachelor’s in economics from Carleton College in Minnesota and a master’s in public policy analysis from the University of Rochester.

Gretchen was honored by the Alaska Journal of Commerce as a Top 40 under 40 and as board member of the year for Standing Together Against Rape, or STAR. She also served as a Johnson Fellow with the U.S.-Japan Foundation, as a Henry Toll Fellow with the Council of State Governments in 2005 and as a trustee with The Nature Conservancy – Alaska chapter.

Gretchen enjoys anything with her almost-grown children, basset hounds and friends. You often can find her on the pickleball court or skiing, biking, hiking or volunteering.

Her official start day at Rasmuson Foundation was Feb. 28, 2023.


Loren Abbey

Director of People and Culture

Roy Agloinga

Program Officer, External Affairs

Bill Bailey

Director of External Affairs

Jeff Baird

Chief of Staff

Laura Boone

Office Manager

Michele Brown

Senior Fellow

Emily Cho

External Affairs Associate

Sydney Copley

Executive Assistant to Vice President

Angela Cox

Vice President of External Affairs

Lisa Demer

Communications Manager

Bob Doehl

Senior Fellow

Julee Farley

Chief Financial Officer

Monica Garcia-Itchoak

Program Officer

Christina Gheen

Grants Manager

Carmen Goodwin

Manager of HR and Risk Management

Jess Haley

Manager of the President's Office

Tanya King

Senior Program Officer

Enzina Marrari

Program Officer

Alexandra McKay

Vice President of Strategy and Impact

Erin Milan

Executive Assistant to the President and CEO

Samona Norombaba

Program Associate

Chris Perez

Vice President of Programs

Tasha Pineda

Program Officer

Lailani Stone

Finance Assistant

Monica Terrones Vargas

Events Manager

Deborah Vo

Program Officer

Maura Wharton

Executive Assistant, Programs & Strategy