For immediate release
Nov. 9, 2021
Contact: Lisa Demer, 907-545-3555 (cell)

Anchorage, AK — Rasmuson Foundation is accepting nominations for the 2022 Distinguished Artist Award. The deadline for nominating artists is Wednesday, Dec. 1.

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of the Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program, which also include Project Award and Fellowship grants. Applications for those awards will open Dec. 15, and close March 1, 2022.

Rasmuson Foundation offers one $40,000 Distinguished Artist Award annually in recognition of an Alaskan’s significant artistic accomplishments and creative excellence over multiple decades. These artists have chosen to make their lives and careers in Alaska, thereby contributing to the richness of arts and culture in the state.

An Alaska-based panel of artists and art experts is assembled each year to review nominations. Distinguished Artist Award recipients are generally full-time professional artists and will be recognized by peers and experts across the state as among the most accomplished in their field. The panel selects one artist based on the quality of their work, creative accomplishments and impact in Alaska. Since the beginning of the Individual Artist Awards program in 2004, the Foundation has honored 18 Distinguished Artists.

“Artists contribute so much to our communities,” said Jeff Baird, chief of staff and program lead. “This award provides the public with an opportunity to weigh in and advocate for someone who has helped transform art in Alaska.”

In addition to the singular Distinguished Artist Award, the Foundation grants Project Awards of $7,500 available to artists of all career stages, and Fellowships of $18,000 for artists who are at least mid-career.

The 2021 Distinguished Artist Award recipient was writer and author Ernestine Saankaláxt’ Hayes of Juneau. A special feature on our website showcases all past recipients. You can learn more about the Individual Artist Awards program, and nominate an artist, online at

[Download press release: Nominate now for 2022 Distinguished Artist 11_09_2021.]