June 1, 2023
Contact: Lisa Demer, 907-545-3555 (cell)

Anchorage, AK – Leaders of Alaska nonprofit organizations and tribes are invited to apply for a 2024 Sabbatical Award. The program provides leaders with time away to rest, reflect and rejuvenate.

Each recipient will have three to six months in the coming year to unplug from demanding jobs. Award amounts in the coming cycle will be up to $50,000, an increase from $40,000. These grants to the individual’s organization help cover the leader’s salary, interim team, and costs of travel and other experiences during the time off from work. The deadline to apply is Aug. 3.

The Rasmuson Foundation Sabbatical Committee, which includes prior recipients, will select up to eight individuals for 2024 awards. Click here to learn more and apply online.

Leaders get time with families, a chance to pursue personal interests, and an opportunity to decompress. Recipients in the past have brought a long history of community service. They demonstrated a pressing need for time away and recognized that their organizations will benefit by allowing others to step up.

The Foraker Group and the Alaska Tribal Administrators Association will support organizations and leaders through the sabbatical process.

“The support provided is critical. It’s unlike any other sabbatical anywhere in the country,” said Monica Garcia-Itchoak, a Rasmuson Foundation program officer who oversees the Sabbatical Program. “Tailored support offers peace of mind to dedicated Alaska nonprofit leaders and tribal administrators who otherwise might be hesitant to step away. Those who spend so much energy taking care of others deserve this chance to take care of themselves.”

Since the first awards in 2005, the Foundation has funded 107 sabbaticals counting the 2023 cohort. Read more about the 2023 awardees here.

Download announcement about the 2024 sabbatical opportunity.

About the Foundation

Rasmuson Foundation’s main funding areas are health care; the arts; organizational and community development; human services; and solutions to homelessness. Affordable, accessible broadband is a new area of interest. The Foundation was created in 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson, a Swedish missionary, to honor her late husband, banker E.A. Rasmuson.