For Immediate Release
Contact: Cassandra Stalzer, 907-334-0520

Anchorage, AK – On July 1 the Rasmuson Foundation Artist Residency Program will begin accepting applications from Alaska artists and writers interested in fully-funded, two-month residencies in the Lower 48. The eligibility requirements have changed. Alaska-based artists who have not received a Rasmuson Foundation Individual Artist Award are now also eligible to apply. The deadline is August 15.

A free information session detailing the program, eligibility requirements, and application process will be held June 26, at 6 pm in the Anchorage Museum’s Reynolds Classroom. Potential applicants are invited to attend in-person or by teleconference (details below).

Alaska artists who have participated in the program include Christine Byl, Ernestine Hayes, Arlitia Jones, Linda Lyons, Mary Matthews, Jimmy Riordan, Gretchen Sagan, Maria Shell, and Michael Walsh.

Through its grantmaking strategies, Rasmuson Foundation honors the merit and significance of a life dedicated to serious artistic exploration and growth. The Foundation believes that an artist’s energy, ideas and creative drive cannot bear fruit without periods of time devoted to experimentation, education and personal reflection.

Rasmuson Foundation launched the Artist Residency Program in 2013. The program supports eight-week residencies for Alaska artists at Lower 48 organizations, and welcomes accomplished artists from Outside to Alaska organizations. The goals of the Artist Residency Program are to support the creative growth of Alaska’s artists and arts organizations, expose Alaskans to new work and creative processes of Lower 48 artists, and introduce Lower 48 communities to unique Alaska perspectives through extended engagements with artists.

Teleconference Information

Please dial the phone number five minutes prior to the start of the conference call and enter your passcode.

Dial-In: 1 (877) 615-4337 Toll Free
Passcode: 9917 139#

About the Foundation
Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans. For more information visit