For Immediate Release
Contact: Aleesha Towns-Bain, 907-334-0509

Anchorage, Alaska – Rasmuson Foundation is seeking public nominations for the 2017 Distinguished Artist Award. The Award recognizes the significant artistic accomplishments of one Alaskan and culminates in a $40,000 grant.

“The Distinguished Artist Award is an opportunity to celebrate the talents and contributions of an extraordinary Alaska artist,” said Jeff Baird, program officer for the Foundation. “We welcome the participation of Alaskans in this process to make sure our best artists are identified and their impact on our state is validated through this award.”

The nomination deadline is March 1.

Eligible artists will have honed their craft for a minimum of 15 years, have an extensive independent body of work, and will have had a broad impact on arts and culture in Alaska.

Past Distinguished Artist Award recipients are Don Decker and Garry Kaulitz of Anchorage; Peggy Shumaker, Kes Woodward, John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Teri Rofkar of Sitka; Rie Munoz of Juneau; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; Sylvester Ayek of Nome; and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

Nominations may be submitted online.

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program. In 2016, Rasmuson Foundation awarded $389,500 to 36 artists statewide. Launched in 2004, the Individual Artist Awards program has supported 408 artists in 52 communities across Alaska.

In addition to the Distinguished Artist Award, the Individual Artist Awards program includes Project Awards of $7,500 and Fellowships of $18,000. Applications for these two grant opportunities may be filed online at by March 1. Call (877) 366-2700 (toll free in Alaska) or visit the website for more information.

About the Foundation
Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. Through grantmaking and initiatives, the Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.